Book Club – Confessions of a Latter-Day Virgin

For our last book of 2013, my book club filled with fabulous mama-friends read a memoir titled Confessions of a Latter-Day Virgin by Nicole Hardy. It is a memoir that I wasn’t keen to read, but I am glad to share that I really enjoyed this book. Topic aside, the writing is funny, honesty, clear and completely relatable. She writes with an authentic voice that comes off educated and personable at the same time. I found nights where I didn’t want to put the book down. Hardy’s struggle with the way she was raised, the beliefs she cherished, and the life she wanted for herself is something that we can all relate to regardless of religious affiliation.

I admit, I felt skeptical about this book. The things I know, have heard about, and witnessed in my own life, from the Mormon Church are not things that I can say I support or agree with. Starting this book, I wondered if I would feel like her writing was attempting to convert, defend, or highlight the teachings. Yet, she didn’t. Confessions of a Latter-Day Virgin is a book that will make you laugh and reflect on your own beliefs.

Her writing was beautifully honest about why the faith meant so much to her and why she felt the connection to her God. And she was also honest about her questions, concerns, and the issues that caused fissures in her concrete beliefs.

 
Confessions of a Latter-Day Virgin is a book that will make you laugh and reflect on your own beliefs. Nicole Hardy’s writing is graceful in her struggle to remain true to herself and to her faith.

One of my favorite chapters in the book is Chapter 7. She starts the book with an Anais Nin quote.

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight

in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

I read this and heard a loud mental yes! My whole body resonated with this quote. It was recognition of something that I’ve felt in my own life. The pressure to stay in a job or program that isn’t the right fit, to conform to family principles that aren’t my own, or simply the need to step outside of the norm to live an authentic life.

Have any of you experienced the feeling of needing to blossom out of your current existence?

~ jibean

PS – the next book is The Bride Price by Suzanne Popp. Join us and share your comments!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Grubby Mummy and the Grubby Bubbies

Gentle mama of two muddling my way through 💙

Transition to Parenthood

Resources for childbirth educators and for expectant parents

Turtle Talk

Indigenous Law and Policy Center Blog Michigan State University College of Law

healingmnstories.wordpress.com/

Working towards understanding and healing between Native American and non-Native peoples

exploreportlandnature.wordpress.com/

Father/kids finding nature w/in the city

Anne Falkowski

Living My Yoga Out Loud

