Hello 2014!

If 2013 was the year of exploring options and toying with the shapes our life could take, then 2014 will be the year that we implement the changes to take us there. In my holiday post, you may have read about upcoming transitions that I’m looking forward to. I’m excited to tell you about the first one.

We bought a house! (stay tuned for more transitions coming soon 🙂

This isn’t our first house, however, it has been awhile since we owned our own home. We moved out to Oregon when I was pregnant with my second child and my first was 15 months old. Our last house in Minnesota was a beautiful home full of big windows and hardwood floors. A perfect, dual income no-kids kind of house. We worked it out when my son was born, though when we moved to Oregon we knew we weren’t ready to buy until we got to know the areas a little more. Two years later….

We are beyond excited to move into our house knowing that we can unpack every box, let go of things we’ve been storing and saving for the someday we know we’re not moving again. The house is a family house with a big kitchen and large backyard. A far cry from the city views we used to have, but to quote a cheesy-but-true country song, I love the view “from my front porch looking in!”

{Shameless plug – our realtors, Leslie and Cheryl of the Hilbert Team are amazing! I mean it. They were so on top of details and coordinating bids, contractors, touring, opening the house the day after Christmas to show visiting family, attending closing to make sure there are no surprises, and showed us 50+ houses without losing any steam or pleasantness. In fact, when we saw 40 some houses in 2011, it was me and my pregnant belly and toddler which made us a slow moving client with lots of snack and potty needs. They didn’t bat an eye at buckling the car seat in and heading out to see houses until nap time. If you’re looking for a realtor in the Portland, Oregon area, look them up!}

Anyway, I’ve got to get back to packing! If you have any tips on smooth moving with a 1.5 and 3.5 year olds, let me know here 🙂

~ jibean

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Grubby Mummy and the Grubby Bubbies

Gentle mama of two muddling my way through 💙

Transition to Parenthood

Resources for childbirth educators and for expectant parents

Turtle Talk

Indigenous Law and Policy Center Blog Michigan State University College of Law

healingmnstories.wordpress.com/

Working towards understanding and healing between Native American and non-Native peoples

exploreportlandnature.wordpress.com/

Father/kids finding nature w/in the city

Anne Falkowski

Living My Yoga Out Loud

