New Year’s Eve… party from 4-8 p.m. :)

In years past before kids, even before marriage, I remember New Year’s Eve was a big deal. Where was I going to be? What party was I going to? Who would I kiss when the ball drops? There was a lot of energy, excitement, and pressure around NYE. It always felt like NYE had to be legendary.

And I love the New Year. I love the closure of a year ending, wrapping up of good tidings and hard times, and the crisp clean promise of what a New Year could bring. I read a great quote the other day that asked, “If I told you 10 years from now, your life will be exactly the same – what would you change?” This got me thinking about 2014, what steps I need to take so that in 10 years if I’m asked about my life, I say, “Hells yes! It is awesome!” More on my upcoming transitions next year 😉

In the mean time, I’m going to ring in the New Year the best way I know how as a mom – party from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. After nap, until bedtime, we party it up!

NYE 2012_ mama and Lucy

Bring on the sparkling juice, fruit snacks, cheese and crackers, veggies and humus, maybe even some cookies. Then it’s bedtime, and regardless of what is going on in our lives, there is always bedtime. Because even if I wanted to see the ball drop this year, the morning wake up is coming, early and on time because that’s how my kids roll. Maybe a glass of champagne though…

~ jibean

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Grubby Mummy and the Grubby Bubbies

Gentle mama of two muddling my way through 💙

Transition to Parenthood

Resources for childbirth educators and for expectant parents

Turtle Talk

Indigenous Law and Policy Center Blog Michigan State University College of Law

healingmnstories.wordpress.com/

Working towards understanding and healing between Native American and non-Native peoples

exploreportlandnature.wordpress.com/

Father/kids finding nature w/in the city

Anne Falkowski

Living My Yoga Out Loud

