Book Club – with the mama gut!

I love book club. I love to read. I love books. And usually there is wine and I love that too. It’s fantastic to have a book to read each month that grows me beyond my normal range of authors, children books, and gossip magazines.

{Fun fact: in UsWeekly, it was reported that even Gisele Bundchen belongs to a book club to feel like a “normal mom.” Although I’m not a supermodel, it’s nice to know we have something in common. :}

And my book club is full of supermoms and great friends. So, if you’re too busy for a book club or don’t know of one near you, I’m going to post my thoughts on our book each month and I’ll let you know what we’re reading next. Feel free to follow along and share your thoughts on the books, too, or just gleam ideas on what you might like to read next.

The summer that Nixon resigns, six teenagers at a summer camp for the arts become inseparable. Decades later the bond remains powerful, but so much else has changed. In The Interestings, Wolitzer follows these characters from the height of youth through middle age, as their talents, fortunes, and degrees of satisfaction diverge. credit caption and photo to Amazon.com

The summer that Nixon resigns, six teenagers at a summer camp for the arts become inseparable. Decades later the bond remains powerful, but so much else has changed. Photo caption and photo by Amazon.com

My review: This past month we read The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer and met to discuss in early December. It’s a story about friendships that start at adolescence and change with them as the six Interestings evolve. This story looks at what happens when your dreams come true, when they don’t, how everyone struggles, and how the friendships can get you through. It’s well written, with wonderful word choices, and captures some of the adolescent attitude I’ve forgotten about. Wolitzer describes accurately the heartbreak of a teenage crush and how devastating it can be when your best friend won’t call you back. I loved the story and found it hard to put down some nights… One area that I wasn’t fond of was the way it ends. I felt like I was left hanging. I would have liked more closure, more specifics like the rest of the book was written, but the ending was more philosophical and reflective. I’d still recommend it to anyone looking for a great novel to curl up with this winter. Plus the description of hot days at summer camp made me laugh at the idea of humidity and mosquitoes since we’ve got snow.

Book for January meeting/review: Confessions of a Latter-Day Virgin by Nicole Hardy.

PS – If you’re looking for great children books, check out one of my mama-friend’s blogs, Itty Bitty Reader, and you’ll find wonderful ideas.

~jibean

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Grubby Mummy and the Grubby Bubbies

Gentle mama of two muddling my way through 💙

Transition to Parenthood

Resources for childbirth educators and for expectant parents

Turtle Talk

Indigenous Law and Policy Center Blog Michigan State University College of Law

healingmnstories.wordpress.com/

Working towards understanding and healing between Native American and non-Native peoples

exploreportlandnature.wordpress.com/

Father/kids finding nature w/in the city

Anne Falkowski

Living My Yoga Out Loud

