Savasana Secrets

Have you ever wondered what your yoga teacher is doing while you drift into bliss in savasana, corpse pose, the final pose of every yoga practice? Well, I will tell you my savasana secrets because it led me to realize some of my priorities and make changes to my blog.

Most of the time I’m simply watching the students in my class, observing any fidgeting or signs of unease. I attempt to provide words or essential oils that will help soothe, calm, settle everyone into a state where they can absorb the benefits of their yoga practice. And sometimes I meditate, drawn into the lull of the heavy peace in the candlelight room.

Recently, during a lovely savasana, my heart was open, my mind calm, breathing deep and clearly, my priorities popped into my head. Things I had been struggling with, chasing even, were tasks I told myself that I should be doing, however, they were not my priorities. I realized, in a semi-startled manner, that I wasn’t aware of my own priorities. The truth I realized in that room was that the things that really truly are my priorities are the things that I will make time for, no matter what. And those things were not working on my French, researching diets, tweeting, studying recipes, etc. My priorities are to squeeze in as much time as I can with my kids, plus a little yoga, a little wine, laughter, and as much sleep as I can get.

Thus, I decided this isn’t truly a blog about journeying to my core from the physical sense (though I am still working on that), but more the emotional core of me. Who I am, what I want, what I’m interested in and what I care about.

So you’ll see some new posts and new categories with recurring themes. You can read more about the update on my About Me page.

~ jibean

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Grubby Mummy and the Grubby Bubbies

Gentle mama of two muddling my way through 💙

Transition to Parenthood

Resources for childbirth educators and for expectant parents

Turtle Talk

Indigenous Law and Policy Center Blog Michigan State University College of Law

healingmnstories.wordpress.com/

Working towards understanding and healing between Native American and non-Native peoples

exploreportlandnature.wordpress.com/

Father/kids finding nature w/in the city

Anne Falkowski

Living My Yoga Out Loud

