Take the “If” Out

Sometimes my husband has true gems of wisdom. Really, he has these moments of saying things in a way that just strike to the heart of the matter and resonate with me like a gong.

Recently we were discussing two huge changes coming up for me that impact our life together. One was my decision to work with a nutritionist and go boldly after my goal physique and rebuild my core.

The other, a little more game changing for us both, was to accept a job offer. I’m going back to work full-time. This, in itself, is a huge step for me as my whole identity-world-life here in Oregon is built on my existence as a stay at home mom, PR consultant, and yoga/fitness teacher.

It’s all changing. And I’m afraid. I’m afraid of making the wrong decision, afraid of failing. What if I can’t do it? And this is when he had his moment of wisdom.

“Take the if out.”

What?

“Stop saying if I can and what if I fail. ” Then he explained, “Say to yourself When I can and When I do.”

It makes sense. Take out the rom for failure. Allow myself to fully commit to my goal. It’s not about if I fail or not. It’s about keeping going, no matter how many tries it takes to get me there.

Take the if out.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Grubby Mummy and the Grubby Bubbies

Gentle mama of two muddling my way through 💙

Transition to Parenthood

Resources for childbirth educators and for expectant parents

Turtle Talk

Indigenous Law and Policy Center Blog Michigan State University College of Law

healingmnstories.wordpress.com/

Working towards understanding and healing between Native American and non-Native peoples

exploreportlandnature.wordpress.com/

Father/kids finding nature w/in the city

Anne Falkowski

Living My Yoga Out Loud

