Flying By the Seat of My Pants, Part 1

I liken flying with young children to giving birth. For the holidays, I will be traveling with a 2.5 year old and a 6 month old. Here’s what I mean: I’m taking the same approach to flying with young children that I did to giving birth. My intention is to do it naturally, however, I’m not above the use of medications to ease the experience for all involved. Somewhat joking, somewhat serious; but truthful.

It’s been said for ages, but there is no instruction manual on raising children. It’s hard to know what’s right, what’s fair, what’ll be a mistake in hindsight, etc. I truly feel like I’m flying by the seat of my pants, making decisions in the moment, trusting my mama gut instinct and hoping for the best.

I wish that I could know how best to handle our upcoming voyage. How to prepare for entertainment of two young ones, how to manage all the gear and baggage they need, how to be ready for meltdowns that I anticipate will happen in a three-hour flight.

I’ve got my standbys of snacks, books, new toys, a tablet with a ready to watch cartoon movie and advice passed on from other mom friends. Other moms really are like lifesavers. They have wisdom, advice, tales of terror and triumphs. To take the metaphor another step, not all lifesavers are my favorite flavor, but I can see the beauty, value and heart in each one.

I look forward to reporting back on how the travels go and whether or not we’d do it again.

Happy Thanksgiving!

~jibean

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Grubby Mummy and the Grubby Bubbies

Gentle mama of two muddling my way through 💙

Transition to Parenthood

Resources for childbirth educators and for expectant parents

Turtle Talk

Indigenous Law and Policy Center Blog Michigan State University College of Law

healingmnstories.wordpress.com/

Working towards understanding and healing between Native American and non-Native peoples

exploreportlandnature.wordpress.com/

Father/kids finding nature w/in the city

Anne Falkowski

Living My Yoga Out Loud

